Old 04-22-2021, 12:30 AM
  # 11 (permalink)  
heartbroken123

Originally Posted by edoering View Post
I agree with HardLessons, I would be very careful if he’s blaming you of anything. Part of being responsible/accountable in action (not just words) is not blaming or accusing others. I was always told by my friends in NA that part of recovery is taking responsibility for yourself and accepting “life on life’s terms,” so a good sign someone is serious about recovery are actions/decisions that show accountability.

I asked my therapist what I can treat as “truth” when it comes to mental illness and addiction, and she basically shared that the only things we can really truly treat as truth are red flags. Everything else only time will tell. Given that, give yourself whatever time and space you need in the meantime to be safe and happy.
Thank you. This helped me a lot! I feel guilty because I was a newbie on addiction and I didn't know what to say to him, I blamed him for his addiction and for the downfall of our relationship and that made him defensive and blamed me. We are only humans. He blamed me not only for not loving him unconditionally, but also that the true reason I was leaving was not his addiction, but my fear of opening my own business in his hometown. It is true in part, I had my doubts to open my business in a new environment, but the thing is, his habit never made me feel secure in that small town. He has quit weed, but part of him I think is still in denial of how detrimental it was in our relationship.