Old 11-10-2019, 07:25 AM
  # 13 (permalink)  
Auchieshuggle

Originally Posted by zerothehero View Post
I had to really think about this, because it depends on how you define problematic. The truth, though, is I started drinking to get drunk in the mid-70's and didn't quit drinking until 2013. In many ways it wasn't a problem until it was really a problem. I mean, I was a good student and employee despite frequent binge drinking, and for most of the near 40 years I drank I have to say I was having fun. Digging deeper, though, the combination of alcohol, marijuana, and other drug use was problematic from the time I was 13 years old. I became disinterested in athletics, for example, and I had plenty of relationship problems because of drinking and getting high. There is evidence it changed the trajectory of my life in numerous ways, such as choosing an easy path due to fear of failure, and not really fully pursuing what had been my dreams. I lived to party, mostly. I lived for the weekend. Probably the biggest evidence that it was a problem is that I got more than one woman pregnant who chose to abort, and I can't help but think that was in part because I was the would-be father, and there was little evidence I would be good at it. I was on a joy-ride, seeking pleasure and adventure at every opportunity. I was pretty selfish, really.

But what's done is done. I can't really say I have deep regrets. Occasional pangs of guilt, no doubt. Truth be told, it was a hell of a ride, and until I became depressed (situational and alcohol-induced) I didn't perceive it as a problem.

The biggest change for me was learning how to have fun without it. And I've done that. In fact, I can say I'm having as much fun as I ever did. The main difference is I'm not taking the risks I used to, I'm not seeking a rush, whether from adrenaline or acid. I no longer confuse fun with excitement. I'm walking the middle path.