Old 12-12-2016, 10:01 AM
  # 10 (permalink)  
fhl41

What is it like? I would like to say its fantastic and most days it is, but some days its not easy. Gone is the desire to drink, but what I find the most difficult is dealing with my alcoholic mind. I have been drinking since I was about 13 and for 33 years since that time I have used alcohol to self medicate. Slowly unravelling that damage to my brain and the way I manage my feelings and in turn, my life, has been the most difficult aspect to my recovery. Since becoming sober it feels like I have been transported to my 13 year old body again. For what feels like the first time in my life, I am learning to manage my feelings in a healthy and constructive way. Having a lot of trauma as a child I just wanted to shut those feelings down and when I discovered alcohol as a teen I discovered an easy way to do that, and it worked.. for awhile.