Thread: Reintroduction
View Single Post
Old 05-16-2016, 08:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
RainyDay107

Reintroduction

Hi, I am a recovering alcoholic and I joined awhile back. Thank you for taking the time to read this, as I want to become an active member of this community.

As I stated, I joined here awhile back. Unfortunately, I relapsed and had to detox since then. I am much better now. I'm not drinking but I know I must remain vigilant. Daily. Sometimes I miss the escapism or get a craving. I can't drink like most people so I turned to sobriety. There is no going back. Sobriety is the absolute most important. I have found not being around alcohol is easiest to stay sober.

My weakness is that I have an addictive personality, comorbid mental illness (bipolar and anxiety) and I seek escapism. Chronic pain is also an issue for me.

I was an attorney but I've been disabled since 2009, due to bipolar disorder. After a 15-yr marriage ended in a four-year divorce process and the death of my final parent (dad was an addict and died back in 1997)...I picked up alcohol and gradually went from social drinker to a major alcoholic. I started drinking heavily in 2010. I was under so much stress during those four years, I unfortunately took up regularly drinking. It caught up with me.

I feel strong, but I need support from people who get it and don't judge. I like how people here are direct, too. Tell it how it is. I don't ever want to go back to drinking. I can take the straight up talk and prefer it over platitudes.

I tried but didn't really gel with AA so I have been keeping sober on my own with love of my sober partner/boyfriend (no addictions). My stepdad is supportive but a heavy drinker so it's kind of tough. Being a good mom is important to me and that requires sobriety. So I've got that going for me.