View Single Post
Old 03-19-2016, 08:09 AM
  # 17 (permalink)  
Irnldy001

Thirteenth
I get it, and I appreciate your honesty. The first time I tried to stop, I was exactly where you are. There were a lot of 'yets' that I hadn't 'achieved' yet. I was pretty sure I had a problem, but was functioning enough in my life that I was on the line of wondering if it really was a problem. I went to AA (didn't get a sponsor then but met some amazing people). Because I wasn't invested and hadn't really bought in, I made it to about 90 days sober, decided "I've got this" and stopped meetings altogether. I started drinking again rather quickly. This time I graduated from wine to harder alcohol. I didn't understand the shift in thinking then but I do now - wine wasn't having an effect unless I had two or more bottles of it, but this magic elixir gin/whisky/bourbon got there much faster and I could go to sleep. My hangovers became more severe, and on the way to work one morning I had a minor fender bender. No police involved but I considered myself lucky. I started to wake up a bit. It didn't stop my drinking as I would say each day I'm not going to drink tonight, but ultimately would feel desperate and would drink. THe time just got later, but it happenned. I went back to AA, this time I thought with my hat in my hands and prepared to give myself over. It was good for a while and lasted 9 months - before my AV lied to me heavily and I again thought I had conquered all. I was able to go out and drink a glass of wine, and be ok. (like, maybe three times) before one glass turned into many turned into back to hard alcohol. Second relapse worse than first one. Hazy every day, started drinking as soon as home from work. Kids watching me. I shudder to think about how my young kids watched me and probably learned from me. I carried on in this madness, beginning to hate myself, isolate, and lose friends by the bagful.