View Single Post
Old 06-22-2015, 05:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
BayArea2015

Married Father Looking For Advice

Good Afternoon - I am a successful professional and have always thrived in my career however, my personal life is a different scenario. Our lives look like a fairy tale on the out-side but very different from the inside looking out.

I married my girlfriend of seven years two months ago. I was hesitant to marry her as she has struggled with alcoholism for most of our relationship. She has been to re-hab and been through the motions of AA but never stuck with it long enough to decide for herself if sobriety is what she wants. We have argued about her sobriety for 6 years now.

My story, not much unlike others, is one where I wake up with one person and fall asleep next to another. She drinks heavily and becomes a drastically different person. Anger, blame, deflection, hate, uncontrolled emotional outburst, and now physical abuse are the norm. My heart is filled with fear, disappointment, and disgust every time she drinks. Hearing her talk or be excited, happy, emotional about something when she is drunk drives me insane. It's not that I don't like to hear her excited, I simply know that tomorrow she wont be excited about it. Tomorrow she will wake up and be a different person. With no intention to do anything she said last night. To add insult to injury we are also raising two beautiful children. Our kids are now 10 and 12. They have witnessed all of these incidents indirectly or directly. When "mom" is drunk they know it. When "mom" is drunk and upset the neighborhood knows it. Our kids are old enough to have an opinion but for some reason my wife (mom) blames me for "instructing" them to have their negative opinion about her drinking...