View Single Post
Old 06-11-2015, 12:49 PM
  # 99 (permalink)  
Aellyce

Thanks again, everyone. I did just that that today instinctively, AF and Robby...did not answer, just held his hand and rested my head on his shoulder for a while. We were in the hospital garden, me sitting on a bench and him next to me in his chair when he asked this.

Yes I think I understand the context and the big picture for all this quite well. I also understand being suicidal in a non-impulsive way... have been there myself enough times, although of course not in his situation. I don't freak about it at all. I guess I'm just learning to adjust to this new situation now, and he does, too. It seems like his cognitive abilities were not affected too much by the stroke more than old age already, it's more the motor functions... his brain scans confirm this.

Dear Robby...
Of course the whole assisted death issue has been on my mind again a lot in the past few days. I was actually very interested in it and researched the hell out of it in the past, for myself. The thoughts driving it were not really that I wanted to die in the moment, more how I envisioned my older times or times when I would possibly be very sick and restricted. I think my dad and I are similar in this, we suffer greatly at even the prospect of losing the self-actualizing life we are naturally used to. This is why he already suffered a great deal during the past ~2 years when his health and associated possibilities started to decline, we discussed this a million times. So yes I totally get anyone's contemplating these things.