View Single Post
Old 08-10-2014, 04:43 PM
  # 11 (permalink)  
desypete

i am a truck driver tdg and for over a year i stayed indoors after my son died. i was working self employed before my son got ill via and agency so was placed temp with firms but on a self employed basis
i was given 10 weeks by the hardship benefits system to get over my son and to return to work
i was as low as i have ever been in my life, i didn't want to drink but i didn't want to live either
the dr offered me anti depressants but i have seen other members in aa and how they are totally dependent on them so it was a no no for me

i spent a lot of time in bed i couldnt come out i just wanted the world to go away
after about a year or more i started to come out again i had been to the odd aa meeting in between but couldnt carry on going regular as i felt like dying all the time, it is very hard to sit with people who will proclaim there live is wonderful etc and they have all the excitement of sober living etc it was draining for me but then so was everything else

i also had my home to run and my other kids to look after and i tell you now i really didnt want to it was a case of having to

i went back to work and would only do a couple of ***** and be worn out but as i was self employed it suited me so i could work enough to make money to pay the rent and food etc and then take the rest of week off
i was doing 4 shifts a week in the end and doing aa the other 3 days 2 meetings a day i had somehow worked my way through it and was doing good
but then i had a set back and couldnt do it anymore and just ended up going back to my bed room curling up in a ball again
i was tired all the time again i dont know how it came back but it did
i went to see the dr and she thinks i might have also had a bit of a stroke so i am off work now for a month for tests and if they come back positive i will lose my hgv license