View Single Post
Old 10-20-2013, 12:34 AM
  # 14 (permalink)  
ccalhoun71

Ruby,

Well, I am a newbie here. I just came on the other day and have the same question, however, I think that part was answered for me the other night. I have been with my AGF for almost 4 years. (You can read my earlier post to get the background). We have broken up so many times, I have lost count. Then I started setting some serious boundaries. In her twisted mind, it was that I didn't love her, care about her. The reality is, I knew that if I didn't, I would drown with her. Our relationship started out with a flurry. She WAS everything I could every ask for......Drop dead beautiful, smart, fun, kind, caring. And then the head of the monster showed itself. In and out of treatment, cheated on me (physically and online) more times than I could count. And those were just the ones I KNEW about. Two DUI's. 4 treatment programs. This list goes on. Then about 2 years ago, I thought it stuck. Almost 6 months. And then she went back out. Like they say, it came back stronger than before. While I am sure I was not the perfect boyfriend, I helped drive her kids, cooked them meals, took them out, got her kids from school when they were sick. The list goes on.

Well, the other night she was pressuring me again about moving in together or getting married. All along I have said "not while you are actively using" (She never drank around me anymore, but I ALWAYS knew.) I said, "I want to grow old with you, but for my health, I cannot be married to an active A" Well, come to find out, she was already chatting with another guy, got pissed because I found out and of course, it was MY fault and I was the one with control issues. That was three nights ago.