View Single Post
Old 06-10-2013, 10:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
wicked

Hello RLF,

I am completely overwhelmed and can't afford counseling. The only free place I've been to the counselor didn't understand the dynamic of alcoholism even though I specifically requested someone to talk to that had experience with all of that.
No wonder you are overwhelmed! You are suffering from cancer, PTSD (I am thinking from your marriage and being held at gunpoint) and you are married to an actively drinking down in the trenches drunk.

Okay, you must get support for the cancer first.
I am not a medical professional, just someone who has some experience with some of your problems.
At the hospital, there should be a social worker there who can help you find the help you need.
Also, as a victim of a violent crime, there could be a support group or victim's advocate who could get you counseling and help for your traumatic experiences.
I hope there would be no charge for any support groups for cancer.
There is no charge for going to AlAnon, please start going as soon as possible.
Is there a reason you must get out of your daughter's house quickly?
Oh, I think at AlAnon, you could get some ideas about counselors too.
You are entitled to a lot of help. A lot.
I understand your head is spinning and you think the way to stop it is to go back to what you know!

Please, do not go back to hell just because it is familiar, it is still hell.
You know there is better for you, and if you do not know it,
you must get help to find it.

He sent me a text today saying that marriage vows say for better and for worse. I know he doesn't want me to continue on with the divorce. I'm not sure what I want to do with that anymore.
Okay, does he do his part now? As in support you in your time of trauma and need?
After your diagnosis and being held up at gunpoint?
You are staying at your daughter's house, and he is posting for casual encounters.