Old 10-11-2012, 10:40 AM
  # 12 (permalink)  
lizatola

Originally Posted by dandylion View Post
Dear LIZ, I was in tears when I read your description of the sting ray incident! (probably triggered by some of the cruel attitudes of my children's father while we were married).

I think that was abusive--if not actually criminal---considering that you were in a potentially life-threatening situation.

LIZ, did you think he was being abusive at the time? (I mean privately to yourself). Do you feel like it was abuse now? Because, people, sometimes, don't actually know that it IS abuse.

You have indicated that you will be consulting lawyers soon about your rights. I highly suggest that you mention this incident as well as other similar incidents across the length of your marriage. I am not a lawyer, but I feel like this might be very important.

dandylion
No, I didn't think he was being abusive mainly because the whole argument was about the cost. He didn't want to have to pay for medical attention. Once the lifeguards said that the pain would get better, AH decided that I should just wait it out and see before I went rushing out to urgent care. I, on the other hand, was extremely concerned about infection and the possibility of parts of the barb being in my foot so I finally forced him to take me.