View Single Post
Old 04-16-2012, 06:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
aitchtee

Is she an alcoholic?

Hi

I'm a newbie, go easy on me! And apologies if this is a long post...

I've been with my partner almost a year and known her for three years. We started our friendship drinking socially after work, perhaps 2 pints of beer a night every few days, which seemed healthy at the time.

She then broke up with her partner and lost her job in the same week - became unemployed and stayed at home drinking all day, perhaps 5 pints of beer and a few G&Ts - excessive. I knew nothing of this at the time. She doesn't deal well with stress or worry, and turns to alcohol to cope.

I then broke up with my partner, we ended up spending a lot of time together and started seeing each other. We're now living together.

When we got together, our alcohol consumption went down. She has health anxiety and was worried about her alcohol intake, so stopped drinking for a few months. We slowly started drinking more, perhaps a couple of pints twice a week.

But she got a new job (the only one offered to her) which created a huge amount of stress and she started drinking a wine or two on her lunch break once or twice a week. They found out, they gave her a disciplinary and she went to AA. They said if she was caught drinking again, or was seen drinking outside work, they would sack her.

We no longer drank at home either, and I reduced my intake to zero to help her. But being controlled and told she couldn't drink at all, along with the stress from work, and of being sacked, made her obsess about alcohol on a daily basis, so she started secretly drinking - tiny amounts (buying a bottle of gin, swigging once and throwing the bottle away) perhaps once a week on her way home from work.