Thread: Insanity
View Single Post
Old 07-09-2011, 10:43 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Terminally Unique

Location:   « USA »                       Recovered with AVRT  (Rational Recovery)  ___________
Originally Posted by Aysha View Post
The definition of insanity in most recovery programs is doing the same thing over and over expecting different results.

So I am guesing thats when a person keeps going out thinking that it will be different this time. They can handle it, just one wont hurt and so on.

So when a person goes into recovery over and over again expecting different results. Doing the same program or a different one. Isnt that basiclly the same thing?

Interested to see what you all think.

Doing the same thing..whatever that may be over and over expecting different results... Going back over and over or going back into recovery over and over..Keep coming back.
Great topic, since I have some experience here. I am assuming you are referring to the people that "relapse" over and over, and yet keep coming back to the same "program" and doing the same thing over and over again, right?

Let's not sugarcoat things. We've all seen them, the people going in and out of the rooms for YEARS, often DECADES, and yet with well under a year sober. I was the king of the 30-day chip, got a few 90 day ones, a few six month chips, etc, and I certainly wasn't alone in this. They would call these the "constitutionally incapables," as DayTrader illustrated in this post regarding someone who relapsed after ten years:

Originally Posted by DayTrader View Post
I'll tell ya this Kelly.....he may have had 10 years since his last drink but the guy never got truly sober....