View Single Post
Old 05-30-2010, 08:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Wolf_22
Want to form an alliance? :.)

Question Hatred / Emotional Association

I have a problem with hatred and emotional association. I find myself hating many aspects of my reality--this includes past flames, members of my ilk, and elements of the very world we all inhabit--and I want to do something about it but I'm at a loss as to what I should do.

I fear that it's worth mentioning most of this is derived from the sour experiences I've had for the past 2 to 3 years. I graduated from college back in 2007 with a degree in Information Technology and ever since then, I feel like the proverbial carpet was taken out from my feet. My girlfriend left me who is now married to some other guy who works where she works--a place I always wanted to work at all along--and I also lost my first career job after a year of having it because of reasons revolving around the ex and the simple fact that I was just too unqualified (not to mention that I hated what I did there, anyway).

Because of all this, I seem to emotionally associate things with the above more than I ever want to. I feel at times as if it's the equivalent to the amount of control you have over your dreams because it's practically instinctual or animalistic. For example, whenever I work on websites like I do, I find myself remembering an internship I used to work at where I met my ex-girlfriend. Whenever I listen to 80s music on Club977, I immediately think of my ex-girlfriend and some of the times we had during our undergraduate years. For instance, I might hear a song on the radio and it will make me think of her or the past years worth of experiences... Everytime I hear one, I think about her walking up my old apartment's steps and how I could hear her approaching from my open window in the living room.