View Single Post
Old 10-11-2009, 10:59 AM
  # 26 (permalink)  
queenie88

Originally Posted by Free108 View Post
Queenie, I had read some of your story and had definitely related to what you have been through. And yes, it's so easy to get wrapped up in how messed up you must be if you're behaving badly, being jealous and getting angry. I'm becoming more and more conscious of the fact that I was behaving in these ways because I was involved in a very unhealthy dance with him. It was a very alluring thing for me to be with him - he's incredibly charming and intelligent - but I wasn't getting much of what I need in a relationship and I wasn't being clear and honest with myself. I'm not very good at stepping back from my feelings of infatuation and looking after myself. Much to learn...
Anyway, thanks for your support.
free i agree, it is VERY easy to fall into that pattern of thinking "what's wrong with me?" and blaming myself for everything that went wrong. in fact i did - i believed everything he told me, i left thinking that everything was my fault and racking my brain for what i could do to "fix" things.

sometimes i find myself slipping back into that mindset, but i just have to remember that there's NOTHING wrong with me...only that i went looking for something i needed in the completely wrong place, i kept trying to get something from someone who is incapable of giving it to me...like the saying goes, looking for bread at the hardware store.