View Single Post
Old 04-20-2004, 01:58 PM
  # 15 (permalink)  
peacekeeper
Paused

Re: Introduce/Reintroduce Yourself here!

I wanted to say hello & that it seems like there's a lot of info & support here.

My handle is what my role was in my family growing up. I grew up w/2 alcoholic parents. I was part of an ACOA support group when I was in my senior year of college. My father started recovery shortly before I graduated, my mother when I was in my mid to late 20s. My brother went into recovery between my dad & my mom, but has since relapsed. He's back in recovery but he got into legal trouble in the meantime. My father apologized as part of his steps and we were able to develop a better relationship before his death in my early 20s. My mom has gone about as far as saying "as a child of alcholics, I know how difficult it can be growing up in an alcholic family," but in her language, that's an apology She's had a tendency to treat me and my brother very differently (snipin, snapping, screaming & yelling at me more often as a way of dealing w/her anger). Tensions have been growing between us since my brother's arrest, and it's gotten to the point where we're not really speaking. I'll post more about that later. I think we're both at fault and we need to work it out. However, she is "too emotional" to talk.