SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Hi, I'm new :-) (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/434532-hi-im-new.html)

TheHook210 12-04-2018 05:53 AM

Hi, I'm new :-)

Hi everyone,

Wanted to introduce myself and share a little about my story with alcohol. I have never done this before so bear with me.

I started drinking for the first time probably right around the age of 15. I will never forget drinking so many screw drivers I threw up for the first time. Yuck! From then until about the age of 25 my drinking was very sporadic, MAYBE once a month but probably much less. I was super into video games, I moved in with my high school sweet heart at 17 and that was what we just enjoyed at the time, plus we were broke LOL so what better to do.

Fast forward to us growing up, getting ourselves successful careers and actually having money, things changed from nights in, to going out to restaurants several times a week where I learned just how much I loved to drink. I loved to drink for any ole occasion honestly, bad day, drink. Good day, drink. How can anyone watch sports with out a cold beer? The problem for me lies in the fact that like so many of you, it's not just a drink or two. It is always 6-12 beers or mixed drinks, maybe wine. What ever I was in the mood for. And no matter what time I started, I never quit until it was time to go to bed or I passed out.

The last few years I have been drinking at least three times a week to excess, within the last year four or five times a week. I have gone from 115lbs on my 5'2 frame to 145lbs. I am 33 years old I have high blood pressure, anxiety, insomnia, probably depression, over weight, no savings account because I blow it all on restaurants and booze.