SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   New To This Site And Really Need Some Help (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/394363-new-site-really-need-some-help.html)

EBIII 07-11-2016 11:12 AM

New To This Site And Really Need Some Help

Hi my name is Ed I'm 48 years old married with no kids and I am addicted to painkillers, Dilaudid to be more specific.

I've been messing around with painkillers for a good 10 years on and off but just recently, February to be exact I had shoulder surgery and was prescribed 4mg Dilaudid and since then my life has been spiraling out of control.

I have looked into treatment centers but all that I have found either do not accept my health insurance, are too expensive or have a deductible I can't afford. I am on SS disability and have a very limited fixed income.

I plan to start NA meetings asap but do not have a car so my choice of meetings is very limited.

I am at the end of my rope and I do not know what to do I really could use some advice or guidance. If anyone can offer some insight It would be much appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read this

Anna 07-11-2016 11:21 AM

Welcome and I'm glad you're here and seeking support.

It might be a good idea to talk to your dr who initially prescribed the medication and get his advice on how to get off the medication. He may be able to come up with a tapering plan for you.

You will also find lots of support here.

EBIII 07-11-2016 11:26 AM

Originally Posted by Anna (Post 6039726)
Welcome and I'm glad you're here and seeking support.

It might be a good idea to talk to your dr who initially prescribed the medication and get his advice on how to get off the medication. He may be able to come up with a tapering plan for you.