SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   A birthday surprise (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/389932-birthday-surprise.html)

WaterHunter 04-21-2016 08:21 AM

A birthday surprise

I'm brand new here. Tomorrow I turn 30. I have been drinking for 17 years. It never got bad until after I got home from Iraq. Before then, it was just weekends. The same any other army guy did. After, it was every day whiskey.

Now I'm out and chasing one of my dreams. The only problem is the drink still gets in the way. Last night drank a 12 pack. That never helps me in getting my work done.

In the recent past I have developed some momentum. Last year went 50 days without drinking to start the year. This year did a 30 day stint. Now I'm ready to go longer. I'm ready to do it for good.

As a birthday present to myself, I'm going to start being sober today. I'm going to work through the 12 steps. The journey will be tough, but I think the threads here will help. Let me know if you have any advice.

ALinNS 04-21-2016 08:25 AM

Welcome to the forum, one of the many things many of us here believe is in having a plan to help us stay sober when we are exposed to situations in life including what we call our addictive voice.

If you have any questions, we all have a story and more than happy to share what worked for us.

All the best
Andrew

2ndhandrose 04-21-2016 08:27 AM

Happy Birthday, WaterHunter!!!

What an awesome gift to give to yourself!

There is boundless information, insight and support here at SR. Read, read and read some more, there are countless threads and sticky's to peruse!

I would have been lost without SR, this site has been instrumental in my sober journey, 1 year and a bit and onward!

Welcome :c011: :grouphug: