SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   New Here... (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/222981-new-here.html)

skwerrt 03-23-2011 09:50 PM

New Here...

I've been drinking for the past 8-9 years, almost daily. Usually only about 4 beers on a light evening, but sometimes over a 12-pack. No hard alcohol; I stuck to beer because I know my limits on that.

I've just noticed that I can't think as clearly as I used to, nor am I as happy as I used to be. I just want my thinking processes and behavioral health back to normal - I want to be happy. That's why I've made the decision, again, to quit. And, I know that sobriety doesn't lead to happiness, but I'm sure I'll have a better shot at it when my brain chemistry is back in balance.

Logically, I know what needs to be done, but I know this is an emotional battle.

Thank you for reading.

Murray4x5 03-23-2011 09:56 PM

Welcome to SR, skwerrt :)

Murray

recoverywfaith 03-23-2011 09:58 PM

Welcome

CarolD 03-24-2011 12:21 AM

Thanks for joining us...Welcome....:wavey:

Dee74 03-24-2011 12:28 AM

Welcome skweert

I think you have exactly the right idea about sobriety :)
You'll find a lot of help and support here :)

D

Impurrfect 03-24-2011 12:41 AM

Welcome to SR (((Skwerrt)))!! SR has been a huge part of my recovery. When I first got here, I read a gazillion posts, and realized I wasn't alone, I wasn't special, I was an addict, and there were people, here, who were in recovery that had what I wanted.

Yep, life still throws us curve balls, but knowing that I'm making decisions that will not cause me more bad consequences in the future, is pretty awesome.

Hugs and prayers,

Amy

BobGT 03-24-2011 06:30 AM

Welcome. There is plenty of info and support here at SR. Keep hanging around.