Notices

New Here...

Old 03-23-2011, 09:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Here...

I've been drinking for the past 8-9 years, almost daily. Usually only about 4 beers on a light evening, but sometimes over a 12-pack. No hard alcohol; I stuck to beer because I know my limits on that.

I've just noticed that I can't think as clearly as I used to, nor am I as happy as I used to be. I just want my thinking processes and behavioral health back to normal - I want to be happy. That's why I've made the decision, again, to quit. And, I know that sobriety doesn't lead to happiness, but I'm sure I'll have a better shot at it when my brain chemistry is back in balance.

Logically, I know what needs to be done, but I know this is an emotional battle.

Thank you for reading.
Old 03-23-2011, 09:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Proud Neonephalist

Welcome to SR, skwerrt

Murray
Old 03-23-2011, 09:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome
Old 03-24-2011, 12:21 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Thanks for joining us...Welcome....
Old 03-24-2011, 12:28 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome skweert

I think you have exactly the right idea about sobriety
You'll find a lot of help and support here

D
Old 03-24-2011, 12:41 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR (((Skwerrt)))!! SR has been a huge part of my recovery. When I first got here, I read a gazillion posts, and realized I wasn't alone, I wasn't special, I was an addict, and there were people, here, who were in recovery that had what I wanted.

Yep, life still throws us curve balls, but knowing that I'm making decisions that will not cause me more bad consequences in the future, is pretty awesome.

Hugs and prayers,

Amy
Old 03-24-2011, 06:30 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Welcome. There is plenty of info and support here at SR. Keep hanging around.
Old 03-24-2011, 06:34 AM
  # 8 (permalink)  

Hi Skwertt, welcome to SR
Old 03-24-2011, 07:05 AM
  # 9 (permalink)