Thread: Power of Amends
View Single Post
Old 09-01-2023, 04:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
ToughChoices
Yield beautiful changes

Power of Amends

Like many here, my career has taken some interesting turns as the result of my previous substance abuse.

I am a pharmacist who developed an addiction to the prescription drug tramadol. I stole the medication from work (very quietly and politely &#128580 for appx. 4 years before the shame of it broke me.

Coming clean was so humbling and awful. Awful primarily because I hurt my family, but also because I hurt my employer so much. I had worked for the same, single-owner, small-town, independent pharmacy for 8 years. I loved the practice and my boss and my patients, but I made selfish decisions and betrayed everyone’s confidence.

I hurt my employer by leaving him dumbfounded and without needed help, but also by deceiving him. He worried about me. I think my actions shook him because addiction seemed so out of character for my “good girl, mom of three, always helping” personality. He was very trusting, and I took advantage of that trust to access my substance of choice.

At about 4 months of sobriety I made formal amends to my old boss. It was beautiful and healing. He is a tremendous human. He listened, cried with me, and prayed with me. It helped me move past my shame in a very concrete way.

Fast forward another year+, and I am employed as a letter carrier with USPS. My license to practice pharmacy has been renewed due to my ongoing recovery and compliance with all of my Board’s monitoring requirements, but I have (understandably) struggled to match to a position because of my past struggles. I was formally offered a job after full disclosure of my SUD and recovery, but it was rescinded when my background check showed the same information I had already disclosed. It was disappointing, but I enjoy my postal walking route so I wasn’t too broken up over the letdown. I just chose to believe it wasn’t the right place for me.