View Single Post
Old 06-20-2022, 01:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Leopol

What on earth did I walk into?

Hi All,

For the past 3 weeks i’ve been reading a lot a lot of stickies and posts from all of you and it has helped me tremendously. I feel like i am ready to share my story and hopefully gain some insight in what the last three years of my life have been like. I apologise in advance because it is long but it is the first time I am coming forward with my story so bare with meeee

I have no previous experience with alcoholism or addiction, especially high functioning addicts, so i had no idea what i was looking for whatsoever.

I met my ex boyfriend when I was 26 years old at work, he was intelligent, smart, funny and had a great job. He was also a beautiful man. Corporate culture these days really thrives on open-bar parties, large alcohol consumption, and unfortunately where we live in Amsterdam, even cocaine. It is not abnormal for anyone to engage in such substances. At least, to a certain degree. I was brought up progressive and my parents always told me to be honest about everything and its oke to want to try things but just make sure you are always in control. Hence, i am not an angel and previously have tried substances but never ever out of control. So when i met my ex boyfriend i didn’t think much of it. A few months into dating i did realize he was drinking and using cocaine a lot more than i would consider normal, i asked him about it and he became defensive – i should have known right then and there that this was a big RED FLAG. Instead i told him that if he wanted to keep seeing me he needed to be able to talk about things, he apologized and said fine what do you want to know? I asked him if he was in control of the situation, he looked me straight in the eye and said yes. I put it to rest and just let him be. I had zero codependency issues in the beginning.