View Single Post
Old 10-17-2019, 03:20 PM
  # 12 (permalink)  
Aellyce

My opinion is that it can be good to explore various things. Either or, in combinations - so many versions to try and see how they work, then stick with what's effective. Often one approach that has been beneficial for a while, in a certain period, is no longer helpful... move on then and try something else.

I had a couple years of "love affair" with therapy a few years ago, to the extent even that I considered training to practice a form of it part-time. I had been very curious about it for a long time prior, so went with a wide open mind. I saw a few different therapists, some only for 1-2 sessions and worked with two a bit more long-term (about a year each, and sometimes I juggled both in parallel). It was interesting but nothing life-changing or tremendously helpful for me and I often had a tendency to use it more as a distraction from actually truly dealing with my issues. I work in the mental health field myself and have always been introspective, interested in understanding how I work, self-improvement - these things come naturally to me. Surely alcoholism distorted a lot of that, certainly did not make me improve, and it took a while in sobriety also to really regain my mental clarity and balance (or develop new forms of it). So therapy was exciting for me for a while, mostly because of the mental stimulation and novelty it provided, the ways I was trying to figure out how to use it and what to make of it. Overall though, for me, it wasn't anything super useful. I stopped going after about two years total. Don't regret trying it but I doubt I would go again in any foreseeable future, I can't really see what for.