View Single Post
Old 07-30-2018, 02:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
catlover1989

Just Got out of Rehab

I just completed a 30 day Rehab program. I am an alcoholic. I've been drinking heavily since 2015. I hit rock bottom in May 2018. I lost everything - my job, family members, friends, my home, my dignity and my value as a human being. That's when I decided to stop drinking. I'll be 3 months sober on August 2.

I remember when I was at school, and teachers would lecture us about the dangers of addiction. I didn't pay much attention at the time, because I thought something like this would never happen to me. I thought I was "too good" to fall into the dark dungeons of addiction. Oh my, how wrong I was. Addiction spares no one, no matter who you are, what you are and where you come from. Addiction does not discriminate. It devours everything and everyone it can - it's a beast that is never satisfied with what it has. It always wants more.

I'm now on the road to recovery. I was released from rehab on Friday. It's funny - the first day/night at rehab I was so anxious and unhappy. I couldn't believe I had ended up there. I kept replaying all the moments that led me there and it killed me. I wished I could go back in time and change it all, so I wasn't in a place that felt like prison. I really wanted to get the hell out of there. 4 Weeks felt like 4 Years during the first days.

But after getting out on Friday, I was really sad. I miss the people I was with, I miss the colourful characters I came across, the wonderful counselors and lecturers who helped me tremendously. It's actually an experience I will look back on fondly, not only because it has helped me immeasurably, but also because it was a place that made me realise how beautiful people are, and how great life can be.