View Single Post
Old 09-21-2005, 09:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
shestruggles

Not in recovery?

Hi all!

Many of you know me, I've been hanging out here for a little over 6 months.
In that time, I made (what will hopefully be) my last attempt at getting sober.

I came here after 10 years of unssucessful home detoxes from opiates. I could get through the wds, but it was the aftermath of emotional wds that always sent me back out, even after significant periods of sobriety. I had forgotten how to live life with dope - using it, searching for it, financing it. My whole life revolved around it. I prayed for the strength to change, I went to NA meetings and was met with open arms, good people telling me I was on the right path, helping and encouraging me when I fell.

After some research I found suboxone. It's certainly not right for everyone,and it is not an 'easy out' from the hell of addiction. It takes work, and an incredible commitment to be honest and zealous in your recovery. I meet with my doctor weekly, I go to councelling weekly, I have made countless concious decisions to change the way Ilive. I came clean with my loved ones, my regular doctor,my dealer and my friends at SR.

I have made amazing progress, but it has (and will continue to) require alot of work, both externally and internally.

On this websitem I have connected with a small group of other committed individuals who are also on the suboxone maintenace program. That was an incredible gift that SR has given to me.