View Single Post
Old 06-06-2017, 11:55 PM
  # 19 (permalink)  
LastingChange

Hi Cocobeano,

I'm not a mom, but I can absolutely relate to the feeling of trying to quell life's prosaic routine with alcohol. I have the most wonderful husband in the world and a beautiful house for which I am endlessly grateful, I pinch myself every day at my good fortune.

Yet I have been stuck working in a high pressured industry that I absolutely hate for years since leaving college. I have been studying for two years in the evenings after work to obtain a different qualification to change career for something I love and spending all my weekends studying and writing assignments, on top of long days at work with increasing pressure and office politics. I would go a couple of weeks at a time without drinking, to be super productive and clear, and although I'd feel great, I forgot to take time for myself to relax and do something enjoyable - it was all work, work, study, repeat, and I was burned out and felt guilty about never doing anything fun with my husband either. So when I would drink, a glass of wine at dinner would end up in an all out bender, as after the first glass I would start contemplating how mundane and frustrating life was and how I was stuck in the cycle of not ever enjoying anything.

Over the 10 years I've been binging, I've used and abused alcohol for many reasons, and I can attest that trying to create some 'excitement' or 'spice up reality' has definitely been one of the more damaging causes. I'm realising now that the prosaic life is actually pretty wonderful, and I intend to start meditating and regularly practising yoga to become more appreciative of the life I have.