Old 09-22-2016, 12:24 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
PiratePrentice

Welcome PoppyPiper!

One- if you think that's long, you've never read some of my posts. Your post is about half the size of my normal posts. So you're fine.

Two- I didn't quite catch exactly how much you're drinking on a nightly basis or how exactly long you feel you've been dependent on it. It doesn't sound like it's so extreme that you're going to physically have a nightmare when you stop. Don't take that as unquestionable truth, though. Seriously, don't. That's my assessment based on almost nothing, but I don't know much about anything anymore. I could be extremely wrong. I am not a doctor. I am not giving you medical advice. Everyone's bodies are different. As others said, doctor's supervision is always the safest way to go.

That said, while most will poo poo the idea of tapering, I'd say it works, to a very specific extent. If you're serious about wanting to quit or are genuinely toying with that idea, give weaning a try. I found that it really helped put my mind at ease. It felt like I was in control, and it felt like I was being proactive about preventing any nasty WD symptoms I might have had. As I got lower and lower (though still drinking substantially), and I saw that my body wasn't reacting negatively, I just quit cold turkey. I never really got to the point where I had it down to one drink a day, because then it's just silly. I quit before that point.