View Single Post
Old 07-07-2016, 07:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
gainingstrength

Leaving a toxic relationship

Hi all, I'm new to this an accidentally posted this on the F&F of Alcoholics, but this is where I belong. Below is essentially my situation.

My partner and I have been together 4.5 years. He told me he had addiction issues about 4 months into the relationship, although I had no idea what that meant. I thought it was in the past, plus he attended AA religiously.

Well, a year and a half into our relationship my father died. Shortly after I found out he would go on weekend benders and had anonymous sex with any and everyone and using drugs, mostly meth. I rationalized the cheating to his drug use, and I was at such a low point in my life I felt I needed him.

Over the years it's been the same story - he's relapsed 4 or 5 times, both using and cheating. I stayed for so many reasons. I love him, I think he needs to sort his deep seeded issues out, he has mental health issues, etc. - but overall he's a great guy. At least I thought - he has a ph.D., plays at church on Sundays, has many friends, and everyone loves him. He treated me well, always doing things for me so I believed acts of service was his love language. I couldn't (and still can't) wrap my brain around how anyone can be so wonderful on the surface but every year or so he has a breakdown.

Fast forward to this past March and he relapsed again. I said hateful things, kicked him out, the usual. We maintained a friendly relationship because I still wanted to support him and we lived together. Then he entered rehab in May. Since we went to school together all of the profs and the Dean knew. I was so embarrassed, esp. since it was a few days before my graduation.