Old 03-09-2016, 07:52 AM
  # 413 (permalink)  
Magnetic

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by ColoradoMan View Post
Hi all. I apologize in advance for the long post... This is an introspect that I need to get out...

I have been on SR off and on for three and a half years, mainly as a lurker, but I have never really told my story. I am 48 years old and I have been a professional drinker for the last 32 of those years. See, that is the polite way of telling myself that I have been a drunk since I was 16! I didn't really intend to give it another shot at sobriety this time, I just woke up tired of being tired. I finally had to take stock of the life I had chosen to live. Here goes...

I was a gifted athlete in high school and early college, but that wasn't what turned my crank. I chose alcohol over fame and glory and partied away my chance to continue my career in sports. I have had some of the most beautiful and special people who wanted to be a part of my life. Most of them I let walk away, or I chased them away because alcohol wasn't a priority in their lives and so they stopped being a priority in mine. I never got in trouble with the law, never got fired from a job, so it was easier to lie to myself for most of my alcoholic years into believing that I really didn't have a drinking problem, I just liked beer and whiskey more than most other people did. I have had wonderful things happen around me in my life, that I mostly don't remember all of the details about through the haze of the mass amounts of alcohol that I was drinking while they happened. My children, now adults, grew up thinking it was normal for dad to get home from work, open the first beer by six o'clock and keep drinking past when they went to bed.