Thread: Need opinions
View Single Post
Old 05-12-2005, 11:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
walkingtheline

I work in the mortgage industry and while I live in CA, my "job" is located in Texas. So I see the "high" of home prices here in Orange County, CA and have seen the homes in Orange County, TX and how cheap (by comparison) they are.

Houses cost whatever they cost. It's that simple. Some areas are just crummy. Some are at a premium because of their location. Others just ARE. Here even a small one bedroom condo costs near $400,000. I saw several homes in Texas the last time I was there. The "norm" there was a home with 3000 to 4000 square feet, HUGE lots, island kitchens, 4 bedrooms, mulitple baths ect...for 90,000 to 150,000. I'm always tempted to make the move.

Mobile homes are rarely good investments. That's just a fact. And a rental is just that--you're making someone else's house payment and they're receiving all the tax benefits. A rental simply isn't the same as your OWN home.