Thread: Work tonight
View Single Post
Old 04-04-2014, 01:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
roguedreams

Work tonight

So, as a caveat, I know this may be a controversial topic for some, but I'd really appreciate if I could vent here and focus on the feelings/triggers surrounding my job. I'm taking a risk airing it all out, but I feel it needs to be said, to be heard, because my AV will otherwise use the secrecy against me.

I work night shift as a dancer and have never worked a shift without having at least a couple drinks - and very often, many many more than that.

Today was my second day sober - I never ever ever thought that I could make it that far! - I attended my first-ever AA meeting and (drum roll) went to work. I was nervous, terrified even, that I wouldn't be able to work without a drink. And it was soooo weird. I didn't know how to work my job anymore! Quite honestly, I've been doing this for two years now, and I felt like it was my first day doing it again! I was shy of the customers, worried that I'd be offered a drink (and I do know - intellectually - I could say any number of things, like I'm diabetic, I'm on antibiotics, I'm driving tonight, I'm allergic, I had one earlier and don't need one now, etc... or even get a virgin something. We have code words for shots and drinks for underage dancers who still want to participate in the "drinking activity" of the customers). That being said, almost all of my angst tonight was IN MY HEAD.

It was a bad night. We had more girls than usual and everybody was complaining about how bad it was. But me? No, my little AV voice niggled in my ear - "you're having a bad night cuz you can't drink." "even if it's slow, any other slow night you could always find THAT customer to drink with." etc etc. I took frequent breaks, ate a healthy snack/meal, talked with a few of my sober, supportive co-worker friends, tried to work ... let's just say I survived.