View Single Post
Old 03-16-2014, 12:01 PM
  # 14 (permalink)  
jdooner

I am an Engineer not a medical doctor. But I have consulted with several. Also, I have read many books on the topic, so again these are just opinions but the conclusion I have come to seven months into my recovery. For reference I have found the following books quite helpful:

In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts, Gabor Mate
The Power of Now, Tolle
A New Earth, Tolle
Mindfulness for Beginners, Kabat-Zinn
Meditation for Beginners, Carder
Awareness, De Mello
Blink, Gladwell

There are several forms of meditation. I practice a guided mindfulness. I started at 5 minutes twice a day and am now up to 30 minutes twice a day when I can. My consistency is not great and I can feel the benefits when I am consistent and the negative effects when I am not. I have looked into TM but the course is $960 in my area, so from what I have read I don't see the benefits. Also Buddhist and Mindfulness seem to activate the frequency to deal with what we are looking for.

Transcendental meditation was introduced to the western world by a guru named Maharishi Mahesh Yogi in 1958. It is extremely simple to learn and practise, yet it will bring immense practical benefit to all areas of life. Of all the different types of meditation, this particular technique gives a unique quality of rest to the mind and body, releasing stress and tiredness in a very natural way. Transcendental Meditation is a very practical and simple form of reaching a state of rumination and suitable to all people, especially those who find it difficult to set aside time, as some techniques may require an hour plus to practice. 15-20 minutes twice daily sitting comfortably with the eyes closed. This may even be done on the bus, train, lunch hour, essentially anywhere that is safe for you to sit with eyes closed for those 15-20 minutes.