View Single Post
Old 02-22-2014, 03:50 AM
  # 57 (permalink)  
HighSpirit

Morning all! Day 7.

I cannot believe I have made it this far so thank you all for your support. I have not been 7 days without a drink for over 10 years!

Originally Posted by GreenEggsAndHam View Post
Is it because I've been drinking for 28 years? Because I do not even know life sober? This is such a foreign concept to me. I admit that I've always been the self-proclaimed "party girl" (since 15 years old - well, alcoholic but it just sounds better) and I've thought non-drinkers were just uptight dorks who didn't know how to cut loose. What is more fun - this or sobriety? I have no idea anymore.
Neither do I. Take today as an example. Its a glorious sunny Saturday here in London and what am I doing? Nothing. Sweet FA. Why? Because I dont even know what I like anymore or who I really am but... I'm looking forward to finding out.

Originally Posted by Delphine View Post
Day 11 almost over.

I spend a lot more time thinking now. My thoughts are more lucid, but my cognition is still impaired. I am still getting off track pretty easily and am incredibly moody. I have always had this very harsh inner critic and sometimes I drank to make that voice go away temporarily. The inner critic is still successful in making me feel like crap, but a new voice has also appeared. This voice tells me to be proud of myself for staying sober and to respect the progress I'm making. The last time I was consistently proud of any accomplishments was about 10 years ago.
Again this post amazes me just how others feel the same as I do. I can relate to lots of people here in so many ways and this is just another. Keep up the good work Delphine. You should be proud of yourself.

Originally Posted by Ilya View Post
Hello everyone. I have to admit, I absolutely can not keep up. I'd like to get to know this group, but I fear I am not very good at getting to know others.