View Single Post
Old 04-25-2013, 09:12 AM
  # 17 (permalink)  
Florence

You didn't cause it. You can't cure it. You can't control it.
When I first started reading these boards, this was my mantra. When he tries to suck you in and make you feel guilty, keep saying this to yourself.

I'm worried about this idea of 'concentrating on myself'. That was something I never learned very well, I'm not very good at it. I know I can learn, and that I need to. There is a therapist at school I'm going to start seeing tomorrow. But I can't imagine just sitting by the sidelines and watching him take this journey on his own, boy...that really sounded like the inner 'mom' in me - huh?
The sad fact is that there is NOTHING you can do to care for or love him out of this disease. If love were enough, we wouldn't live with addiction.

Self care is about taking that energy that you sink into him and his addiction -- which you can't cure or control -- and putting it towards yourself, to calm your anxiety, to fill up your tank, to help you achieve goals in your life that take the sidelines because of living with addiction. If he is committed to get addiction out of his life, he will figure this out. If your wish is to stay with him through this process, your goal will be to love and support his journey with a sense of emotional detachment from the outcome. You don't have relationships with people's potential, you have relationships with people as they are today. Things are what they are.

I wonder about you in a caring profession like veterinary work. Those of us who find ourselves in relationships with addicts also find out through time that we are predisposed to relationships with addicts. There's something about us that's drawn to fixer uppers. Keep repeating: You didn't cause it. You can't cure it. You can't control it.