View Single Post
Old 04-24-2013, 01:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
stiney

Unhappy I need to talk to someone

Hi, I'm new to this, and I know that I need to talk to someone and to share - because I've kept so much locked up for so long I feel like I will explode. But there is so much, I don't even know where to start. I feel like if I told the whole story I would be writing all night.
I'm 24 years old, I'm getting ready to start my second year of Vet School. And I am in love with an addict. About a year ago we had trouble with Percocets. I blame myself. And I enabled him for some time, because I saw how much better they made him feel. I forgave him when he stole money from me to buy pills, and I cried myself to sleep when he was so catatonic that I couldn't even wake him. After several tries, and a few small relapses, I think they're finally over. We've moved 4 hours away from all of his contacts.
But now he's here in this place with me, away from everyone he has ever known. And he is having trouble relating to people here, the culture is so different (as crazy as that sounds) - so he can't make friends. About a month ago he went on an awful drinking binge for about 4 days. I came home from class and found him passed out in the living room. When he finally got up, he told me he would stop, and he started going to AA meetings. He's gone almost every night since, sometimes to multiple meetings in one day. But he hasn't been sober the entire time. He's had 1 drinking night a week. It really hasn't been bad, but twice I feel like he moved into excessive territory. He doesn't tell anybody, I'm not sure he plans to.