View Single Post
Old 04-12-2013, 08:57 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Dib42

Originally Posted by shirlygirly View Post
Long story short, I'm only 20 days sober and my boyfriend of 1 1/2 years broke up with me. My drinking was not the cause of the breakup. He said I was more invested in the relationship than he was, and thought it was unfair to me to continue dating.

I'm 29-years-old. This is my first time in the program. I've been going to meetings every day and working the steps with a sponsor. Not sure how, but somehow I've managed to not drink over the breakup, and it's been three days since it happened.

I don't know what to do to get through this. I'm hurt and extremely angry. I've helped him through all of his problems, and he bailed when I needed him to help me through mine.

I'm an emotional wreck. My boss, who I absolutely despise, just called me into his office to discuss an important project. I started crying; it was awful. Meanwhile my ex is at his job, making a ton of money after starting his own business, which he wouldn't have started if I didn't give him the idea, the encouragement, the ******* business name, a logo, business cards and a website (I'm a graphic designer and web developer), so he could do what he loves for a living, surrounded by the Keurig and plants I bought him to help brighten up his new space.

I'm just stunned by how unfair this all is. He's walked away completely unscathed and on top of the world, while I'm at my absolute rock bottom, in more pain than I've ever experienced, completely alone. I just don't know how to manage the pain.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Before I offer any advice, I'd like to say that you are amazing! The fact that you haven't drank over the breakup is inspirational to me. Next time I'm thinking I'm having a bad day and I'm going to take a drink, I'll remember your story and it'll put my sorry excuse for a bad day in persepective. Thank you for that.