Thread: Domino's thread
View Single Post
Old 04-01-2013, 12:20 AM
  # 38 (permalink)  
SoberKnitter

I'm new at this, but I'll give it a try...

Originally Posted by Dominorose View Post
I'm lying in bed right now, trying to take a nap bc it seems to be the only way to stop thinking about food (you can replace food by your drug of choice I presume it's the same)...
I think it's your AV that's yapping about food. Thoughts of drinking run through my head an awful lot, but it's not me thinking about it, because it's involuntary. That's how I know it's the beast. So I just notice the thoughts, recognize that it's my AV, and pay them no mind. They are annoying and somewhat distracting, but I don't feed them with my attention. Sometimes I even laugh at how stupid the thoughts are.

I'm on day one since I made my Big Plan and commited to it for real, and I feel depressed bc of the "loss". I'm hanging in the house with no motivation to no anything, thinking about eating all the time... I think that's not AVRT at all so I need help.
You haven't lost anything but misery. I also get what I call waves of sadness, but they are just part of the deal for now. They can't make me drink. Again, you aren't thinking about eating - that's your AV. Recognize it as such and ignore it or laugh at it. It's a tricky bugger, so it will scream, yell, manipulate your emotions and show you images of food, but it can't make you binge.

I try to resist this depression feeling but it doesn't change anything. I know it is my Beast trying to convince me life without bulimia is a sh*t, but knowing it doesn't get the lazyness and "sadness" away...
Lethargy and sadness are just more tricks. Resisting won't work. No feeling can make you binge; your beast will figure that out. Everyone gets depressed and lazy sometimes.