View Single Post
Old 12-19-2012, 08:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
nano

new here, need advice

Hi Friends,
I am new to the addiction scene. My daughter is in rehab. She went on her own and really I am very proud of her, but still guarded as I was shocked by how much she had been drinking and for how long. The lies, the deceit, the broken promises, friendships lost, her anger and judgement toward others, it is all crashing on me and I find I am so angry at her for all she has done to hurt our family. I don't feel very hopeful about her recovery. She suffers from terrible anxiety and has been depressed for years. She has been on antidepressants and antianxiety meds for years, they have helped some but obviously not enough as she was self medicating with alcohol to the point of addiction.

I am supposed to write a letter, an honest letter, for her to read in group about how her addiction has affected me. I am worried that the truth will only send her deeper into despair because the guilt and shame is already a heavy cross for her to bear. On the other hand, I have never been honest with her about my feelings. I feel terribly angry and taken advantage of. When the going gets tough, she always gets going... I mean runs away, hides in her own life, never contributes to family troubles, is 'put out' if a younger sibling is in need of support, god forbid her dad or I should need anything from her.

All told my daughter is incredibly self absorbed and now she is in rehab during the holidays, when we are all at our busiest she is being catered to; doing yoga, talking through her problems, journaling, eating good food; man, what I would give for some time off work, some time away from my obligations and responsibilities... Someone put me in rehab please!