View Single Post
Old 10-07-2012, 12:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Release1992

Newbie here, at my wit's end

I am new to this forum but not new to the life with a alcoholic .
We have been married 20+ years and as I sit here right now and look back, I can't remember too many times that alcohol has ruined events in our lives.
I have done the same thing that others have done, as in telling him to stop or I am leaving. He knows by now that is just empty threats.
His family have a history of alcoholism and he says I'm not an alcoholic, I just like to drink a few beers.
The biggest problem is one beer becomes 3 then 6 then 12, he never knows when to stop.
He has gone to work a few times smelling of alcohol and has almost totaled our vehicle on one of his binges. He is not a mean drunk, just a stupid one. I can smell him a mile away, as I don't drink and he will deny it until the next day. The next day s of course, I'm sorry, it won't happen again, I am stressed at work and all the standard excuses I am sure everyone here has heard.
He most recently started with the going to a football game and not coming home. He has a few times just disappeared and not answer his phone and then come back a day or so later with the me excuses.
He has a few medical conditions that make it where he should not be drinking but he is invincible or so he thinks.
I know that I have enabled him for many years and that is my fault, but I am at a point in my life where I just want to be happy. I don't want to be at work and constantly wonder what I am going to come too.
Both of my parents are deceased and my 2 oldest children are grown and have families of their own. They are tired of me calling and crying upset about his actions, so I keep a lot to myself. I am strong willed and have carried this weight around for years