View Single Post
Old 06-17-2011, 01:17 PM
  # 13 (permalink)  
Pigtails

I can relate to you so well.

I am a successful professional and I don't understand why I'm not successful when it comes to alcohol. I hate feeling powerless over it and I hate that I can't control it.

I have depression and anxiety, and social anxiety, and I feel like it's all a big cycle. I drank to not feel anxious or depressed and for a temporary time I just felt happy and outgoing and "normal." Then I felt remorse and regret and even more anxious and depressed. And when I realize I have this big problem and I'm unsure how to deal with it, I feel depressed. I mean maybe whatever I do, I feel depressed or anxious... but how does alcohol help that? It really doesn't. It really makes it worse instead of better.

If you are like me then over time the negative effects of alcohol start showing up a lot more than any "positive" effects. Yeah it helps me be more relaxed and outgoing. Until I end up not knowing, or regretting (which is worse? I don't know) what I said or did. It changes me for the worst and over time it does much more to cause me anxiety and depression than it ever did to help me. At first I thought it helped me but I was just plain wrong.

I don't know why I can't drink like a normal person. I wish I could but I can't. This is a simple fact I am slowly trying to accept and I am not there yet, I still want to rebel against the notion and I still want to think I'm normal but I'm not. I mean, what is normal? I don't know. I think A LOT of people feel like they don't fit in, a lot of people get nervous around other people they don't know well, and a lot of people aren't comfortable in public. Alcohol really doesn't make these problems any easier. Temporarily it seems to but in the long run it ends up hurting more than helping, big time.