View Single Post
Old 05-06-2011, 08:02 PM
  # 31 (permalink)  
JohnBarleycorn

Originally Posted by susanlauren View Post
"the disease concept" .... "primary, chronic, progressive, relapsing, fatal" JBC

I am not a medical doctor, and I imagine that most of the folks on this website aren't either. Whether one agrees or disagrees with the classification, it was the American Medical Association that determined alcoholism was a "disease" in 1956. Do you, as a non-physician, know better than the AMA and the medical community?
The AMA represents about a third of American physicians, not "the medical community" (feel free to check).

That said, it does not matter if alcoholism is a disease. Telling (hammering) into people they have to accept that they have a relapsing disease, or they will die, without giving them a solution, does not help them.

People who accept this as fact may think "So, I have an incurable, relapsing disease? That must be why I want a drink. The desire hasn't been lifted, and I worked the steps. Maybe I'm one of those constitutionally incapables. Maybe I'm just not ready yet, like they said. Oh well, I can't figure out those steps, and there are worse diseases than this - TIME TO RELAPSE !!!!"

(To be fair, I did a google search of SR for "not ready yet" and got 587 results, so this isn't just limited to "the rooms.")

After telling the incredulous newcomers that they must concede powerlessness, that they have to hit bottom, that they may not be ready yet, and that they should try some more controlled drinking, to figure out if they are a real alcoholic, they then tell them "take what you like and leave the rest." JBC.....

"And leave the newcomers do, in droves, taking with them the disease concept which "marks" them to continue drinking against their better judgement, and of course, they leave the rest - The Steps - behind." JBC