Thread: Ot/ update!!!!!
View Single Post
Old 11-30-2010, 08:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
nytepassion
Drug Addiction Has No Mercy

Ot/ update!!!!!

It's been a long time since I have updated so I thought I would drop in and give the good news to my SR family that Dakota is THREE YEARS OFF TREATMENT!!! She will have scans now instead of every three months it will be every six for two more years and then will go to every year. She is doing great! All the nerve damage from the chemo seems that it was temporary and now she has reflexes back in her legs. She is in first grade and doing well. She would much rather stay home with mommy then go to school because she misses me and school is too long LOL

Elijah and Savanna are doing great too. All the kids are in school for the whole day now so I do get some time to myself. It is nice. I've been working and taking care of the family now for 18 months without my addicted ex and I am in such a great place .. a "God" place if you will

I never imagined that I could take care of all my kids, pay all my bills, and maintain the household without help, but God made a way. Though I don't do it alone. I have the Lords help. He has blessed me beyond measure.

Times have been rough here and there, but I always come out smelling like a rose.

I can't tell you how wonderful it is to not have to deal with the stress that comes with loving and living with an addict/alcoholic. For those of you that have been there and are in recovery you already know. For those of you still in the situation spend much time dreaming and wishing to know.

Here comes the part where I encourage you to focus on your recovery and leave the addict to him/herself. I know your biggest fear is the what ifs and that the addict will die without your help. The truth is the active addict is dying slowly with or without you. You can't save him, but you can save yourself and your sanity.