View Single Post
Old 11-21-2010, 04:41 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Floss

Originally Posted by outsidethecage View Post
It's my first time posting here. I don't know what to do anymore. I really just need to vent right now so thaks to whoever may listen.

First of all, welcome to SR! I'm sure you'll find lots of support here. I'm new to recovery but there are plenty of others who have a lot more experience on here who will soon offer their words of wisdom and experience...

I've been with my boyfriend for almost two years now. Last year we moved very far from home to start a life togther and I'm beginning to wonder if it was a mistake.

I love him very much but he has a drinking problem and to make things worse he is a bartender so he is surrounded by alcohol every day. Sometimes he gets very sick after an all day binge (throwing up all day, shaking and complaining that he hurts) but in a couple of days he goes and does it again. I don't understand. He just doesn't seem to be able to control himself.

It's very hard being in love with someone who has a drinking problem. I understand this because I have been there...Alcoholism is progressive and it's very hard to understand. It's taken me years to come to terms with and accept my XADFH (ex alcoholic defacto husband) alcoholism.

I have threatened to leave a couple of times because on rare occasions he has been very mean and scary when he's drunk and it is too stressful for me to deal with. He always apologizes and he stays in control of himself for a little while but the he inevitably relapses.

Yes, it can be very scary when they drink too much and lose the ability to control their behaviour. They lose their reasoning mind whilst drunk and this can result in the behaviour you've described. My ex has psychotic episodes whilst drunk and becomes abusive and violent...