View Single Post
Old 10-13-2010, 05:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sean4988

Thought on meaning of AA

I'm fairly new to the program and have been working the steps. What a difference, the promises are coming true for me. I went to the doors of AA to stop drinking, period.

I found in the steps and turning my will over to my HP a different meaning of AA. In my opinion, AA is about the 12 steps and growing along spiritual lines along with a fellowship and to quite drinking. The main reason for my drinking I found was a symptom. When I got sober, I couldn't stand myself, ridden with self-hatred, resentments, judgements, negativity, remorse only to name a few. I had a sober problem! I ran and hid from problems by the escape of alcohol much of my life. I am learning now how to deal with these emotions, problems sober now where I never dealt with before and subsequently never grew or matured on.

I had a major VOID in my life and that void was my HP. So many things are changing for me after I am filling this void, my attitude, perceptions, defects of character are being removed, etc., just like promised. I have inner peace, not all of the time but sometimes and am working every 24 hours to keep it and grow along spiritual lines. I've heard so many others with a good amount of sobriety say that everything that happened to them, the living hell was the best thing that ever happened to them and it was a blessing. They are happier sober now than they have ever been. I don't want to just "stop drinking" and be miserable, suffering and white knuckling as I see some others are. I want to be recovered, content, happy and change who I am, a personality change.