View Single Post
Old 10-01-2010, 04:14 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
wpainterw

Alcoholism- "Merely a symptom"?

Occasionally I have heard folks say, "You know, I'm not really an alcoholic. My drinking is merely a symptom. I'm really suffering from depression". Or "I'm really bi-polar and my doctors are still working on getting my prescriptions right." Or maybe, "I was a victim of child abuse. I'm having therapy to deal with that and when that succeeds I won't have to worry about drinking any more."
I'm not a doctor but I do know how to read. Often, very often, it seems, there is a label on those prescription bottles. I know because for years I took antidepressants. The label says, "Do not drink alcohol along with this medication." I have also been told that alcohol is a very effective depressant. Yet a I often drank when I was taking antidepressants and "surprise!" sometimes the antidpressants didn't work! I suspect that the same may be true for bi-polar medications. Of course I didn't tell my doctor that I was still drinking. And I don't recall his giving me a urine test to make sure I was telling the truth.
As for the "I was a victim of child abuse (and my drinking is merely a symptom of that)!" although I can't recall taking that line, I do remember saying something about a "toxic parent" (after a book title by that name) and saying, "You know, I think I drink because I can't forget all those suicides in the family, etc. etc." And the psychiatrist would buy into that (actually it was I who was on the "buying" end of his services) and would give me prolonged psychiatric therapy so that when my "underlying issues" were resolved, I would "no longer have the urge to drink." This went on for twenty years.
Because, you see, I wasn't "really" an alcoholic! My alcoholism was "merely a symptom"!