Old 01-17-2010, 06:05 PM
  # 13 (permalink)  
Prozac

Originally Posted by kudzujean View Post
My father died of alcoholism when I was in first grade. My only memories of him are unpleasant ones. Such as him fighting with my mother, taking me with him to buy him some beer at a joint where a dog bit me. I had to get stitches.

FYI I am in my late 50's now.

He encouraged my older sister to beat up on me. I think that was mostly to get at my mother. By that time all they did was fight. But that in no way excuses it.

For years I wasn't allowed to express my feelings about him (good old no-talk rule). I found ACOA meetings in the mid 1980's and attended for several years. I have been attending Al Anon for 7 years. Also, over the years I've had mucho therapy, including experiential group therapy which was very helpful to me.

When I talk about my father, I refer to him by his first name. I'm not as angry at him as I used to be; I just don't think about him that much.

I don't think I could ever love him, and I see no reason why I should. If he had been my stepfather, nobody would say I "have to" love him. Just because you share somebody's DNA doesn't mean you have to love that person.

Any similar experiences?
A lot of this post, outside of your dad dying of his disease while you were young, I could relate to. I could write a book on the things my dad unintentionally did while he was drunk (including telling me at the age of 3 to pet the nice doggy outside a bar that was no so nice and almost caused me to lose my eye, I still carry noticeable scars).

However, while my dad has never recovered, I have had the chance to age with him (I'm older than he is in many ways). He has done a lot of good things for me that your dad never had the chance to do, despite his on again off again drinking and lack of recovery.