View Single Post
Old 08-20-2009, 05:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Nallabelle
Go Browns!

The good news is that he recognizes it. There is a fine line between addiction and dependency. I am not an expert or a doctor- only an addict. I can share my opinions on your situation.
Generally "addicts" are more obsessed with their drug of choice (often referred to as DOC) than someone whos body has simply become dependent on it. Addicts abuse their DOC. They tend to count pills and revolve their day around their next dose. Most addicts start out as people dependent on the meds for pain, and it escalates.
I have never taken dilaudid. I am in recovery for an addiction to vicodin, which started after giving birth to my second daughter. I needed the pain meds for a couple weeks legitimately but loved the feeling and energy it gave me so much, I could not stop. Coming to this site, going to NA has taught me sooo much about addiction. Its way more involved than I could have imagined. Never thought this would have happened to me- there are a lot of misconceptions about addictions- it can happen to anyone.
As I said Ive never taken your husbands DOC. I would assume that a good doctor would help him taper down before quitting. Generally speaking, detox off pain meds will not kill you. I dont believe their have been any deaths reported from it. However, you will feel like crap for a while. The WORST of it is over in 3-5 days after quitting. During that time he will experience flu-like symptoms, anxiety, depression, lack of sleep, diarrhea, fatigue, etc. It is important to come on this site during that time. There is a lot that can help him while detoxing (OTC meds, etc).