View Single Post
Old 07-29-2009, 05:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Jimmcf

I have been lurking here for a while...

I have been looking on this site for a while, but this is my first time posting. I have known it for a while, but was afraid to admit it, but I am a alcoholic. This has been progressing for a number of years, and I am not sure how I let it get to this point.

Growing up, my Dad always had a few (probably 6) beers after work, and I came to think of that as normal in my mind (having drinks after work). The strange thing is, I was the kid who never drank - all through high school and college. I was (and am) very shy, and always found it difficult to make friends. I did not start to begin to enjoy alcohol until I was working in my twenties - going out after work with colleagues, that kind of thing, and found that I of course was less shy. At that point it was beer (Bud Light mostly), and this continued from my mid twenties to mid thirties. Back then, I lived in Massachusetts and cannot believe the number of times I got behind the wheel of a car. I have been in New York City now for over 10 years, so it has been the subway - but if you are drunk on the subway, that can hold it's own dangers as well.