Old 06-27-2009, 06:25 AM
  # 350 (permalink)  
tyler
Not all better, getting better

Had kinda a rollercoaster day yesterday. I started the morning with a phone call from a employment recruiter about a job I had interviewed for the day before. She was very excited (I've been working with her for about 2 months trying to get an interview) and said the ladies I interviewed were very excited about me and called her at 7:30 that morning to make sure they moved me along in the process.

This is a company I have wanted to work for for a long time. I am a sales rep, and the interview was for a sales rep position. I had previously interviewed for a "greeter" position, just to get my foot in the door, but was told that they really felt I would be a better fit in sales, to which I agreed.

So I go to fill out the online application they sent me and I notice at the top it says it is for a greeter position. I call my recruiter and ask about it and she says that they had already offered the sales position to someone else, but were offering me the greeter position. Needless to say I was disappointed. I asked what the pay was and she said $10/hr. When I applied for the position previously I was under the inpression that there were some commission opportunities available as well, so I figured I could at least get by until something else opened up. Turns out, no commission opportunities, and the position they are offering me is part time, not full time, and I would not be able to apply for a different postion for at least 6 months.